what i’ve learned from being a non-full-time employed person

When I was a young mom, I never imagined myself being a full-time employed person (FTEP) throughout my adult years, but that’s what happened. My part-time jobs evolved into full-time jobs, which turned into a career with a master’s degree taboot.

After decades of being a FTEP in one field of work, I’m now working a mini-part-time job in another, along with keeping my granddaughter two days per week. LIFE IS GOOD, however, the change has turned my world upside down.

Based on my experiences and the way I am wired–these are the things I’ve learned:

  1. I’m not a very good volunteer. After being a player in one organization; it’s hard to be in the periphery of another.
  2. I feel undervalued as a part-time employee. I’m an idea person, not a widget-maker. I don’t think part-time people are seen as idea people.
  3. I can fill a day doing nothing. Seriously, I can be busy all day, but at the end of the day couldn’t really tell you what I did without sounding desperate. I don’t like that feeling.
  4. I need routine. Without it, I feel lost and lethargic.
  5. Being a FTEP in ministry kept me up on my spiritual game.  My job was to vision, write, speak, teach, and plan events with spiritual themes. That meant I had to be in prayer and in the Word of God all the time. Now, it’s all up to me, and let’s just say, it’s really different.
  6. I’ve redefined the term “friend.” As a FTEP, I thought I had lots of friends. Turns out most were actually just business associates and acquaintances.
  7. My fear of having an identity crises was real. When I quit being a FTEP, I wondered if I would lose my identity through the loss of a role in which I had served for over a decade. Discovering who I am as just me, rather than who I am with a title, is still a work in progress.
  8. I’d give my right arm for my husband and children. I swore I’d never keep my grandchildren. Before my granddaughter was born, my daughter asked, “Mom, would you…?” Keeping my granddaughter is the single hardest and best thing I’ve ever done.

nanawrenhospitalTo everything, there is a season. I’m living in my time and purpose for now.

If/when I return to the world of full-time employment, I’m just thinking I might have a better perspective on the lives of the non-FTEP.

4 thoughts on “what i’ve learned from being a non-full-time employed person

  1. Ok, did you creep into my body? So well thought out, and yes, there are seasons for us, and lessons to learn when we are not in charge and not in control. Love you

Leave a comment