lying about praying

“I’m praying for you” ←←←←←←←. As I typed this message to a friend…I knew it was a lie, so I immediately deleted it. It’s not that I hadn’t thought about praying or that I wouldn’t pray, it’s just that I hadn’t, so saying it was a lie. I may stretch the truth (lie) about some things…but lying about praying falls into the “might get struck by lightning” category for me.

I do love praying with and for people, which is good since it’s the primary role of a hospital chaplain! And it involves “praying on the spot.” I’m just thinking that praying on the spot is one of the best ways to keep from lying about praying.

My love for praying on the spot came from two influential women in my life.

Many years ago, I was on the phone with Betty Jo, sharing some major life decisions. She said, “Well, let me pray for you,” and prayed for me right there on the phone. At the time, I’d never known of anyone to do that. Sitting at my office desk, I didn’t know whether to close my eyes or bow my head! I thought it was so spiritually rogue and outrageous…I loved it. I loved that she didn’t say, “I’ll be praying for you.”  She just prayed…on the spot…and I got to hear it.

The other woman is Barbara who will stop and pray anywhere at any time. But there was one day in particular when I was struggling with some intense fear. She grabbed me by the arm, took me to our little office chapel, and prayed heaven down over me. The peace that came over me was tangible. She prayed…on the spot…and I got to feel it.

The ways I learned to “pray on the spot” from these women have helped keep me from lying about praying. Whether face-to-face, over the phone, or via internet—when I pray on the spot, I never have to feel guilty that I haven’t, or lie that I have.

2 thoughts on “lying about praying

  1. True and wise words….as I had just “liked” a request before I scrolled down to your words. I do say a little prayer as I “like” the request or am typing the words that I have done so…indeed because I know if I don’t do it right then and there….it may end up being a “lie”…..Best to you!

Leave a comment