bursting our bubble with the “c” word

“Well, Janet, there is some cancer in your breast.”  There it was…the “c” word.  And in that moment, the bubble my husband and I have lived in for over 40 years burst.

I met Frank when I was 15.  It was at the concession stand of DeKalb County’s Memorial Stadium during a Friday night football game.  The mom of a mutual friend introduced us by saying:  “Frank, this is Janet.  Isn’t she cute?”  It was “like” at first sight for both of us.  We dated off and on through high school and college, got married two months after we graduated, and soon had our beautiful baby boy followed by our sweet baby girl.

Our life has not been perfect.  Some years have been more about “surviving” than “thriving.”  But I’ve always known we had a wonderful life together.  I’ve also known the day would come when we would face a challenge that would knock our socks off.  That challenge has come as a cancer diagnosis.

I’ve always wondered how I would respond to that diagnosis.  Now I do.  I’m not wondering “why me.”  I’m not feeling frantic or out of control.  And I’m not feeling like our “charmed life” is ruined.

Sure, I’m scared of the unknown and I’m not at all looking forward to what I will be going through.  But overall, I’m feeling a sense of peace.  I have no doubt that comes from God…but I don’t think He just rained it down on me instantaneously through a prayer the day I was diagnosed.  I think He gave it to me over 40 years ago at a Friday night football game.

The same face, arms, and hands I have held over 40 plus years will enable me to survive and thrive in life beyond the bubble.  My husband, along with my children, will be with me through every decision and throughout my plan of care.  That is how God is giving me peace.

19 thoughts on “bursting our bubble with the “c” word

  1. Oh, Janet… is this brand new news? Know that you are lifted up and up to the Lord here. (And by so many others, I’m sure) Love you much.

  2. Janet and Frank….
    When I first saw your picture I knew exactly where it was taken. I have one in that same setting standing there with David Watson. I thought, “oh how fun to see that picture”…then I read your story and my jaw dropped and, yes, I got teary eyed as I read your opening…and then I read on ….and then I saw the same young girl I knew in high school….so sweet, happy, kind, faithful and most importantly…so strong(how could you not be strong after having so many break ups and get back togethers with Frank?). I know this has thrown you for a loop, yet your calmness and your attitude, your family and of course, your faith are going to get you through this. I walked the 3 Day last year in hopes that no one I know will go through what you are about to begin. My dear friend in Va.,who just turned 40, traveled this same road last year and she is doing great…..I know you will beat this! If there is anything I can do for you….you just let me know….This C thing ain’t got nothing on you! Hugs and lots of love to you and your family.
    Laura

  3. Janet, I am so sorry to hear that you have been diagnosed with breast cancer. I know you will walk through this difficult journey with much grace, lifted up through the prayers and support of Family and friends, but more importantly in the power and strength of the Lord! When you experience days of great challenge and you just can’t be strong, He is strong!
    Please know I am bombarding the throne of God with prayer on your behalf!
    Your Friend,
    Becky

  4. Dear Janet and Frank,
    Our prayers are with you. Janet, you have always been the strongest, sweetest Christian I have ever known. I have never met a more precious spirit, unless its your mom. I love you!

    Beth

  5. Prayers coming your way! Thankful you know our wonderful Savior and trust him and your family to see you through this journey of unknowns! Love to you!

  6. Dear Janet,

    Thank you for sharing this news, albeit sad. My heart, prayers, and health wishes are with you, Frank, Claire, Brent, and your larger family. Cancer is a disease that tugs at my heart… particularly because i can’t wrap my head around it. I’m sorry about this news, but i am so encouraged by your perspective. I have always admired your relationship with Frank, and your love story is very cute 🙂 I pray that God sustains that great love you both have for each other and for your family during this time. You are in my thoughts and prayers as usual, and, these days, i will be knocking on heaven’s doors for a healing for you! I love you, Janet. I’ll be praying for you…

    Here are some verses i want to share with you:
    1 Corinthians 10:13 No temptation [testing] has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted [tested] beyond your ability, but with the temptation [testing] he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it.

    2 Timothy 1:7 for God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control.

    Now, here’s my prayer for you:
    Ephesians 3:14-21
    14 For this reason I kneel before the Father, 15 from whom every family in heaven and on earth derives its name. 16 I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, 17 so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, 18 may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, 19 and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God. 20 Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, 21 to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.

    Sincerely with love and a warm hug,

    Onyinye
    (Your BCM student)

  7. Pingback: When your world gets shaken up… you PRAY and Believe! | Strong Enough Girls

Leave a comment