being bored with magnificence

mag•nif•i•cence: splendor of surroundings.

My husband and I recently went to the beach for vacation. While we there we were introduced to a local who, when he found out we were there on vacation, questioned our choice. “Um…why do you want to come here?”

“Here” includes a wide beach, great waves, sunny skies, amazing seafood, and a fun eclectic community. Maybe that’s why!?!?!

I thought of all the homes we passed during the last week as we walked or road bikes along the beach. On most days, we didn’t see a soul on a deck, patio, porch or balcony. No one standing outside, drinking in the view.

I began thinking of other times and places where “locals” didn’t get what was so special about where they lived. With a former job, I used to drive all over Georgia and saw some incredible scenery tucked away in lesser-traveled areas. Fields white with cotton–scenic mountains–pretty neighborhoods.  I would comment to my clients, “Wow…it’s so beautiful around here!” And they would look at me like I’d lost my mind.

I’m just thinking…how do we lose the wonder of magnificence? When do we stop seeing the splendor of our surroundings? How could we possibly get bored with the artwork of the creator and designer of this world?

Especially in light of all the yuck in this world…I believe the splendor of our surroundings can be an incredible encouragement. Maybe it’s just one big spectacular gift from God. I pray I never get over it.

The heavens are telling of the glory of God;
And their expanse is declaring the work of His hands.
(Psalm 19:1, NASB)

 

 

Leave a comment