the result of bad parenting

Over the years, I’ve read parenting articles that say parents shouldn’t try to be friends with their children.  I do believe in disciplining your children and I don’t believe you should try to be a teenager with your teenager; but I’m just thinking, my kids are the best friends I could ask for (in addition to my husband, of course.)

I joke and say I gave birth to my son so that he could raise us.  He was born to two young inexperienced parents and lived to tell about it!  I affectionately refer to him as our son-daddy who tells us to calm down, be careful, and act right.  He is sensible, caring, calming, faithful and dependable.

And I laugh and say I gave birth to my daughter so that I could make my own best friend.  I’ve always had good friends, but just never got into a bestie-girlfriends-for-life group.  What I do have is a daughter-friend that shares my heart, my thoughts, my sillies, my frustrations, and my sorrows.

As the result of “bad parenting,” I have immediate access to two trusted friends.  I trust their judgment, I respect their expertise, and I understand their perspective.  They make my burdens lighter, my decisions easier, and my faith stronger.

It’s just like a gracious God to give two wonderful children who are also two wonderful friends.  I’m so glad we didn’t miss out on their friendships by being “good” parents.

Featured photo:  Our family pretending like we’re “somebody” with our front row tickets at a Georgia Tech basketball game.  (2000)

3 thoughts on “the result of bad parenting

  1. I hear this false dichotomy put forth often as well! My son is still quite young, but I don’t think that it’s impossible–or inadvisable–to be the one who guides and disciplines and a friend.

    I’m hopeful I’ll be able to describe my kids as friends someday. 🙂

Leave a comment